Maxyme G. Delisle X atelier b

Face to Face is the most recent project by atelier b’s duo, in collaboration with Catherine

D’Amours and Maxyme G. Delisle. Cross-disciplinary, it encompasses elements of design, photography, and fashion, yet at the heart of the project is a pure celebration of beauty—atelier b’s exhilarating beauty, defined by a search for lost time and for a language left behind, the very essence of which is found in a place transcending the workshop-boutique, surpassing the simple clothing collection.

 

Maxyme G. Delisle’s photos reflect this concept. By sculpting the visual—the body and clothes—the photographer, whose work often reflects human anatomy in its simplest expression, celebrates the human body with compositions reminiscent of Mark Borthwick, at a junction between art and fashion.

 

Face to Face also pays homage to process, that of creation, but also of fabrication. The choice of Polaroid for this series is, besides the result of a happy set of circumstances, the very essence of the project; the pace this technique imposes mirrors the way the two designers work. As opposed to mass production practices and fast, cheap execution, we find a sort of celebration of slowed pace, rendered in its entirety through raw images and ethereal ambiance, which provide rare authenticity.

 

The matter/time at the heart of the image, the image which immobilizes matter and time… as though enclosed in a loop. The softness emanating from these Polaroids invites us to immerse ourselves in the workshop universe and to come face to face with the fabrics, each chosen with care, and to let oneself be clothed by them.

 

Text by Marie-Christine Dubé

Maxyme G. Delisle X atelier b

Face à face, le plus récent projet d’atelier b, en collaboration avec Catherine D’Amours et Maxyme G. Delisle, se trouve à la rencontre de plusieurs disciplines, dont le design, la photographie, la mode, mais surtout se pose en véritable célébration du beau. C’est le beau exalté d’atelier b, c’est-à-dire cette recherche d’un temps perdu, d’un langage suranné qui trouvent leur quintessence dans un lieu qui transcende l’atelier-boutique, qui surpasse la simple collection de vêtements.

Les photos de Maxyme G. Delisle rendent à juste titre cet idéal. En « sculptant » la matière qui est à voir, matière-corps, matière-vêtement, le photographe, habitué de travailler avec la nudité, rend hommage au corps humain avec ses compositions à la Mark Borthwick, se trouvant à la jonction entre l’art et la mode.

Face à Face c’est aussi un hommage au processus, créatif certes, mais au processus de fabrication. Le choix d’utiliser le polaroïd pour réaliser cette série, est, au-delà d’un heureux concours de circonstances, l’essence même de ce projet. Le rythme de travail imposé par cette technique vient appuyer la façon de travailler des deux créatrices. Loin de la fabrication en série, de la rapidité d’exécution à moindre prix, on a affaire à une sorte d’apologie de la lenteur, le tout rendu dans des images plus brutes, des ambiances éthérées, qui témoignent d’une rare authenticité.

La matière-temps autour de laquelle l’image s’articule, l’image qui fige la matière et le temps… On a l’impression qu’une boucle s’est bouclée. La douceur qui émane de ces instantanées, nous invite à plonger dans l’univers de l’atelier et d’aller à la rencontre de la fibre, des matériaux choisis avec soin et de s’y laisser habiller.

Texte de Marie-Christine Dubé.